Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Cyclists clock miles on their bicycles like cars clock miles. One way cyclists do this is to use a computer that has an odometer. (If you shop for a used bike you definitely want to know how many miles it has been ridden.)

We’ve been clocking miles through the Get Up and Ride National Bike Challenge. I’ve mentioned the challenge in previous posts. The goal of the challenge is to unite 50,000 riders riding 10 million miles between May 1 and August 31. We will definitely meet the mileage mark. Ridership is at about half mast. And how amazing is that? Less than 30,000 riders will have ridden their bicycles 10 million miles in four months.

Yesterday was a big day in our home. Josh clocked his 1000th mile in Bike Challenge. At an average of 333.33 miles per month so far (and many more miles in July than the previous two months) He will easily break 1400 miles by the end of the Challenge.

I’m pretty far behind. I’ve logged 321 miles since the start of the Challenge. It will be 330 by the end of the week. I know I rode over 400 miles in the previous four months.

When we started this whole car-free lifestyle I didn’t think much about the number of miles that I’d be riding. But I realize that I’ll easily break 1000 miles by the end of the year. And how amazing is that? I never imagined this future for myself. I never imagined I’d be so happy living without a car. I never imagined I’d want to inspire others to do the same.

(Not that that last bit has happened… yet…)

Where do you find yourself unwilling to push your own boundaries and limits?

