Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I think I have to start riding my bike more.

Did I just say that??

Yes, yes, I did.

You see, when we sold the car I was commuting to a job three days each week. That job, thankfully, is no more. I still ride rather often as we have errands to run just like anyone else.

Twice I rode to the grocery store last week. Three times have I been to the produce shop. But these are menial trips. Neither is more than 1.2 miles one way.

I haven’t written a post in a while because I haven’t felt like there was much to say. Car-Free was a challenging lifestyle for a time and it’s sort of become low key.

I say I think I need to ride more so that I have something to blog! Stories to tell!

I must toot my goal reaching horn: in May, I set a goal of riding the 18 mile round trip to the 270 year old Easton Farmers’ Market. Last week, we did it. And we returned with 45lbs of groceries. I mean, Joshua has been to Easton and back more than a handful of times this summer. But I did it. And, I loved it. And, I wasn’t exhausted. And, I can’t wait to do it again. On Saturday. And the next, and the next.

Now, the semester will kick into gear next week (Joshua’s already has) and with it comes 8 mile round trips to the library to study sans children. (Did you know Joshua and I are both full time students?) The weather is going to change soon and with it will come adventures about which I have not blogged.

So, there is news in the making!

But for now, the cycling life is quiet. We go to church (11 miles). We go to the library (8 miles). We go to the store (2 miles). We get around on our bikes with little trouble. And at this stage in the game, I don’t think any of you want to read a blog post about riding my bike a mile or two. Boring right? (Unless something crazy like the Audrey II scoots across the street in front of me.)

I was totally uncertain that I would ever reach the goal of riding to the farmers’ market. I was, however, totally committed to it. So, of course, I reached the goal.

What goals have you reached this summer? Obstacles you’ve overcome? Won’t you share your stories too?

