Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Hey y’all!

It’s been forever since I last posted and I apologize for that. School and holidays have eaten my time. And if I’m frank about it, I haven’t made this blog a priority, partly because I don’t feel I have much to write about anymore.

I started writing this blog to chronicle the ups and downs of living car-free with a family of four. The choice to ride bikes has become less of a challenge and more of a lifestyle and so I don’t have a lot of my initial material left. I suppose that means it’s time to take the blog in a new direction. Thoughts or ideas out there??

The main reason I write today is because it marks a huge milestone. One year ago today we sold our car.

  • We sold our car with the understanding that we might replace it within 6 months.
  • We sold our car knowing that we had no idea if we could do what it would take.
  • We sold our car knowing we had goals to reach but no foreseeable pathway to them.
  • We sold our car and began living in a way we never imagined.
  • We sold our car and can’t imagine ever going back.

We’ve grown healthier and stronger in mind and body. Fitness has become more central to our lives. I now cringe at the 3 hours I spend in a car most weeks to pick up Conor from school on Fridays. I now know that a long enough bike ride cures just about any case of irritability that hits.

I love the life we live. I am eternally grateful to my husband, Joshua for taking a stand for it.

Today, one year into this adventure, I can’t imagine having a car parked outside my door 24/7. The idea turns my stomach a bit.

I’m incredibly sensitive to things I never thought about before. Sitting in a car for an hour leaves me lethargic and brain-dull. Not riding my bike for a few days leaves me feeling unhealthy. Exhaust from other cars makes me cough and spit.

While on Christmas vacation in Maine, Joshua and I borrowed a car to see some family 20 miles away. A car pulled out in front of us with a cloud of black smoke trailing and we both instinctively held our breath. And then we laughed our asses off about it.

We pay more attention today. Going to new places isn’t about when, it’s about how. What route? Is there a better route?

  • What’s the weather?
  • What’s the wind speed?
  • What’s the temp?
  • Where’s the sun?

Everything affects a ride and we like being prepared for what we may face.

I’ve learned so much about myself. How and when to push myself. I feel sluggish? How’s my posture?

I’ve learned about my bike and that it’s not just about balance. What’s about to happen on the road? What gear do I need to be in?

I know I’ve said it many times before, and I feel that words are epically insufficient when I try to tell you that I love living this lifestyle. I don’t always think riding my bike is fun. But it IS always empowering, freeing, and gratifying.

Cheers to another year!

