Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I really should have been writing a week ago or more, but I have this life that demands my attention far more than I like some days. It keeps me from riding my bicycle and getting the hours of sleep I’d like 🙂

Anyhow, I attended my League of American Bicyclists Certified Instructor training seminar. I learned A LOT. A. LOT. One of the many things I learned is that I had a tendency to be one of those jerk cyclists that really should move to the right a bit. 🙂

Last year, when I was learning to commute, my main resource for all things bicycle was a man who believes everyone should stop driving cars and just ride bikes. Well, he’s slightly adjusted that attitude to accept car-sharing programs.

But anyway, I developed a habit of riding farther to the left than the League deems appropriate. Lucky for me I got to do some additional training with one of the Lehigh Valley’s premiere LCIs and one of the most generous and loving human beings I’ve ever met. We completed our required time this morning and I’m just waiting on the okay from my instructors.

So, what does being an LCI mean? It means that my Friday morning off-road ride has been renamed 🙂 Off-Road w/ Betty is now Into the Woods w/Meg. Isn’t that freaking adorable? Betty helped me come up with it.

The folks who have been doing this ride for years have been incredibly gracious and welcoming. I couldn’t ask for a greater group of people. Betty has given me two big thumbs way up and is thrilled to be passing along her torch to me.

The kicker in becoming a bicycle educator came last Saturday evening. I noticed a small boy on a bike and his dad on foot watching spin round a parking lot. I walked over and introduced myself to the dad. I told him that I’m a bicycle educator and asked if I could talk to him about his son’s riding and bike for a few minutes. I adjusted the boy’s helmet and talked to his dad about saddle height. Get this–it was the kid’s first day EVER riding without training wheels AND his name is the same as my toddler’s. I could tell that he hadn’t really learned how to stop so I got down on my knees and gave him some ins and outs about how to stop comfortably and safely. it was grand. I walked away feeling so blessed and humbled that I get to be a part of that boy riding his bicycle well and safely.

One of the A-ha moments in my LCI training was coming to realize that I really do know this stuff. I really do know about bikes and about safety. I’ve gone from a woman who had barely ridden a bicycle in 20 years to a woman who is capable of imparting knowledge to others. And seeing how I have given my life to making a difference for others, I think I’m exactly where I’m supposed to be.

As I brought up the tail of our ride this morning, I couldn’t help but gaze over the Lehigh River and feel my heart swell with gratitude at how very, very good life is.

